Stoned

(This is part III of “Who Can Turn the World on…?” Parts I and II appear directly below this post. To recap, Rosie has moved out of Mitch’s house, and into her own apartment–an apartment she shares with a poodle named Audrey. There are cats living upstairs. Just go with it.)

(Rosie and Audrey are smoking a joint in their apartment. Audrey is curled up on a bean bag chair, Rosie is sprawled on the couch. Rosie’s iPod is blasting “I Had Too Much To Dream (Last Night)” by the Electric Prunes. A thin stratum of blue smoke hangs two feet off the floor.)

Audrey: I have so got the munchies.

Rosie: There’s a bag of kibbles in the pantry.

Audrey: Get it!

Rosie: I’m all over it (takes a hit on the joint, but doesn’t move. Both lapse back into silence).

Audrey: This is a great song.

Rosie: Gotta hand it to humans. They make some kick-ass music.

Audrey: And what have we got? Howling.

Rosie: It’s like we’re not even trying.

(the doorbell rings. After a long pause, Rosie answers the door. A cat is standing there.)

Cat: Hey, I live upstairs. Can we borrow a cup of milk?

Rosie: You borrowed a cup of milk 10 minutes ago.

Cat: Right.

Rosie: And you borrowed another, 10 minutes before that.

Cat: And we really appreciate it, but–

Rosie: Beat it! (starts to close the door)

Cat: (puts his paw in the door) Wait! Ah…are you guys blowin’ a stick in there?

Rosie: Are you a narc?  ‘Cause if I ask, you have to tell me. It’s the law.

Cat: I’m not a narc!

Rosie: Okay, come in.

Cat: (enters, looks around furtively) You know, we can smell this upstairs.

Audrey: So what does that make you, drug-sniffing cats?

(Audrey and Rosie start to giggle and can’t stop)

Cat: Okay…

(Audrey and Rosie shake with silent laughter)

Cat: Okay, okay…pull it together.

(they stop, only to start giggling again when they make eye contact with each other)

Cat: Yeah, this is real funny.

Audrey: (wiping her eyes) Oh, like you guys don’t do a doobie now and then.

Cat: Give me that (he hits the joint, French inhales it, then lets it go in a slow, sinuous stream). Jeez, that’ll tighten your wig.

Rosie: Amen to that. So what are you doing down here?

Cat: I told you, we smelled the smoke. (he lays back on the carpet, staring at the ceiling) Man, I could sure go for a mouse, right now.

Audrey: What’s a ‘mouse?’ Oh, you mean an actual  mouse.

Cat: I wouldn’t even play with it. Just…down the hatch.

Rosie: We got kibbles.

Cat: I’ll take ’em.

(nobody moves)

(the joint goes around again)

Cat: This is a great song.

Rosie: Gotta hand it to humans…

Cat: And what have we got? Caterwauling.

(music) I’m not ready to face the light…

Rosie: We should order a pizza.

Cat: A mouse pizza.

(nobody moves)

(music) I had too much to dream last night. I had too much to dream…last night.

(to be continued)

3 comments on “Stoned

  1. Dave Jaffe says:

    “Rosie: It’s like we’re not even trying.” Ah, how this takes me back to my college days. Lying on the bean bag, groovin’ to the tunes, (yes, we called it ‘groovin’ back then), staring at black-light posters, eating dead mice. However, I worry that Rosie is failing to adequately prepare for her MCATs. Get it? M? CATs? See what I did there? Hahahahahahaha!

  2. I am so glad you came to visit The Embiggens Project because it led me over here! This is brilliant. Can’t wait for installment number 4!!

  3. clarewener says:

    Electric Prunes? Have you made that up? Or maybe they didn’t make it across the pond. What a funny name.

Leave a comment